Gollan, Byrne & Nothdurft top the premierships

Gollan, Byrne & Nothdurft top the premierships

Date: 03-Aug-2020

The premierships were won long ago for the 2019/20 season which was disrupted due to the five month track closure.

Tony Gollan collected his sixth consecutive Trainers’ Premiership with 23 wins. It leaves him one premiership short of equalling Alan Bailey’s feat of taking home seven titles. Although Gollan holds the title for the most consecutive titles with Bailey and Bruce McLachlan both recording three consecutive titles in the early 2000s and 1990s.

Jim Byrne again proved himself the jockey to back at Ipswich as he collected his ninth Premiership at the Bundamba track with 22 wins for the season.

Gollan and Byrne finished comfortably in front of the Gold Coast Edmonds stable and another former Ipswich Cup/Ipswich Premiership winning jockey Michael Cahill.

Baylee Nothdurft (pictured) had a stella season claiming the Apprentice Premiership with 12 wins including clocking up his 100th winner for the season aboard Socialising for Gollan at the Bundamba track. However, he missed the last two meetings after sustaining a fractured jaw following a trackwork incident.

Nothdurft adds the Ipswich title to his Brisbane Jockeys’ Premiership win – a feat that no apprentice has won in Brisbane since Michal Rodd and Zac Purton secured it in 2002 and 2008 respectively.

Back to list